HIGH SCHOOL OFFICIALS ORGANIZATIONS SEEKING NEW MEMBERS

Aurora, CO – Like every other state in the country, Colorado high school sports are facing an officials’ crisis. There aren’t enough officials to cover all the games the kids are playing, says CHSAA associate commissioner Tom Robinson who oversees sports officials in the state.

“We are having to ask schools to alter varsity schedules just to ensure that we can cover those games, but there will be sub-varsity games that won’t have complete crews on some of them. That isn’t fair to the athletes and to the officials, because that level is a training level for both,” Robinson noted.

The officials’ organizations that serve Colorado’s high schools have developed classes for those interested in becoming an official. In most sports, these classes are local and the leadership will assist in registration, training and can answer any questions that might arise.

Classes start this month. Please see the table below for dates, sites and locations of these.

 

2017 NEW OFFICIALS/UMPIRES/JUDGES CLASSES/MEETINGS
SPORT State Location Date(s) Time Location Contact
Football Metro Denver July 11,13,18,20, 25, 27 6-8:30p Englewood HS Chris Stearns-720.732.3284

stearnman@yahoo.com

  Canon City June 28

July 12, 19

7p Canon City HS #104 Mark Nethercot-719.269.3924

nethercot81212@msn.com

  Colorado Springs June 22,26,29

July 6,10,13,17,20,24,27,31

6:30p Trinity United Methodist Church

701 N. 20th St.

Dan Cronin-719.337.2173

drcronin@comcast.net

  Pueblo Starts July 11(1st Mandatory Meeting) 6p Pueblo Comm College Jim Sprague-719.924.0088

sprgmill@hotmail.com

  Trinidad Aug 3,17 – Sept 7,21-Oct 5,9-Nov 11

 

6p Trinidad Police Dept Training Room Greg Guzzo-719.422.8153

gguzzo51@yahoo.com

  La Junta Aug 2 6:30p OJC McBride Hall Parking Log Robert Samaniego-719.469.7820

samaniego_r@hotmail.com

  Ft. Collins Aug 1 7p Fossil Ridge HS Dave Trimble-970.224.8314

trimble@lpbroadband.net

  Boulder-Longmont July 31-Aug 1,2,3 6p Longmont United Hospital Mtg Rm-1950 Mountain View Ave Doug Ross-303.591.9343

doug202@aol.com

  Wray CONTACT KYLE     Kyle Sprouse-970-630-3662 kylesprouse@hotmail.com
  Greeley July 18,20,25,27-Aug 1,15,29

Sept 5,19-Oct 3,17

6:30p UNC-BUTLER HANCOCK BLDG Damian Savolt-970.397.9463

dsavolt@comcast.net

  Monte Vista TBA     Terry Haynie-719.850.1728

delnortenapa@live.com

  Durango Start July 26(Wed nights) 6p Mercy Regional Medical Ctr Rm A Rick O’Block-970.769.3782

Rjob58@gmail.com

  Glenwood Springs July 13/27 6p Glenwood Springs HS/Vail Mt HS Randy Schouten-310-490-4495-schouty@msn.com
  Grand Junction July 19,26-Aug 2 TBD TBD Doug Clayton-970.523.16545

dclayton12@aol.com

  Lamar Aug 9,16,23,30-Sept 6,13,20,27-Oct 4,11,18 6p Lamar Community Building Sonny Smith-719.456.1532

Zebra.sonny@gmail.com

  Steamboat Spgs-Craig Aug 10 6p 27483 Silver Spur Rusty McRight-409.670.8520

trmcright@gmail.com

2017 NEW OFFICIALS/UMPIRES/JUDGES CLASSES/MEETINGS (CONTINUED)
SPORT State Location Date(s) Time Location Contact
SOFTBALL Denver Metro July 24,25,26,27,31-Aug 1,2 6-8:30p Rock Canyon HS Greg Hastings-303.503.7598

gjhastings@comcast.net

  Boulder

Longmont

Aug 7,14 6-8p Rky Mountain

Christian Church

Jon Bartley-303.330.
  Fort Collins

Greeley

July 18,25-Aug 1 6:30p Severance MS Room B104

Weld Cty Rd 21

Bill Crabtree-970.301.2483

bcrabtree@weldcountygarage.com

  Northeast July 31-Aug 7 TBA Akron HS Ron Metcalfe-970.630 8016

Rmet322@yahoo.com

  Colorado Springs-

Canon City

July 11,18,25-Aug 1 6p Trinity United

Methodist Church

701 N. 20th St. CO Spgs

Mike Romero-719.649.8667

Fireman225@msn.com

  Pueblo-Southeast Aug 8,9,10,11 6p Runyon Field

Meeting Room

Cal Martin-719.250.5 257

Cal1martin@msn.com

  Western Aug 20 TBA TBA Wally Diede-970.245.6285

Wally39@bresnan.net

  Southeast July 16 5:30p La Junta SD

Building

Anthony Rangel-719.469.6955

rangelfamily@centurylink.net

VOLLEYBALL Denver Metro June 19

June 27

July 17, 31-Aug 7,14

6:30p

 

Castlewood Library

Eloise May Library

Englewood Library

Jim Henthorn-720.232.0106

Jim.henthorn@comcast.net

  Ft. Collins

Longmont

July 25,27

Aug 1,3,8,10

Aug 17

6:30p Fossil Ridge HS

 

Windsor HS

Chuck Ramsey-970.897.3124

crrinco@ezlink.com

  Sterling July 24,31

Aug 7

6p Northeastern JC Deb County-970.466.0060

countyd@re1valleyschools.org

  Pueblo Aug 12 9a South HS Kathy Cox-719.671.6366

vballarea4@gmail.com

  Grand

Junction

TBA TBA TBA Tony Clark-970.250.6941

Tony4ref@bresnan.net

  Glenwood

Springs

July 24,31

Aug 7

7p Glenwood Spgs HS Denise Greene-970.984.3813

dgreene@garfieldre2.net

  Montrose

Delta

July 29 TBA TBA Pam Gilroy-970.275.6326

Gilroy613@gmail.com

  La Junta TBA     Deanna Russell-719.469.6249

Deannarussell29@yahoo.com

  Alamosa TBA     Dawn Loch-719.937.1256

Dawn1@slvmhc.org

  Durango Start Aug 7 6p Bayfield Town Hall

Board Room

Erin Dunavant-970.884.4715

edunavant@gmail.com

  Walsh July 24 5p 257 E. 5th Avenue

Springfield CO

Shannon Gerber-719.361.0672

gerberks@earthlink.net

  Craig-

Meeker

July 8 8a-4p Craig-CNCC Campus Mindy Finley-970..942.7500

mindy.finley@judicial.state.co.us

  Colorado Springs TBA     Betsy Davison-719.397.2429

eadavison@me.com

  Burlington July 17

Aug 26

7p

9a

BMS South Doors

Burlington HS

Talan Davis-719.397.2429

Talan_d@yahoo.com

  Trinidad TBA     Tory Bertolino-719.937.1256

Tor442010@hotmail.com

  Greeley July 25,27-Aug 1,3,8,10

Aug 17

6:30p Fossil Ridge HS April Greer-503.930.9526

agreer@gmail.com

  Lamar TBA     Ava Bair-719.688.0089

avabair@cvoaref.org

  Cortez TBA     Kami Oliver-970.562.4506

kjo@fone.net

  Kremmling-Grandby-Summit TBA     Kim Bodemann-970.531.3100

bodemannk@gmail.com

  Canon City- Upper Ark TBA     Brian Justice-719.431.0883

Brianj41us@hotmail.com

  Longmont July 31-Aug 3,7,10,14,17 6:30p Niwot Methodist Church Don Pemberton-303.929.4431

pembertondd@yahoo.com

Gymnastics Denver Metro Aug 20 9-3p Overland HS

12400 E., Jewell Ave

Kathy Randle-303.901.2552

karandle@aol.com

Soccer Statewide TBA     Bill Gessner-719-.651.7479

william.gessner@hotmail.com

Be the first to comment on "HIGH SCHOOL OFFICIALS ORGANIZATIONS SEEKING NEW MEMBERS"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*